Nail that job interview

With summer right around the corner, it means a lot of students are graduating. It also means a lot of students need summer jobs, internships and OPT. How does this affect you migrant? well, you have to realize you are competing for a job. Most people applying have an understanding of the “job culture” you may not have, but that is why you are here. Let us help:

  1. HAVE A SMOKING HOT RESUME:

Some countries call it CV others call it Resume. Whatever you call it, make it hot. Make it stand out and only write things in there that relate to what you are applying for. Remember that you should have different resumes and cover letters for different job applications. Your resume should tailor and address the specific requirements the job requires. Check out this great article on resumes.

/https://theinterviewguys.com/how-to-make-a-resume-101/

2. APPLY TO JOBS THAT INTEREST YOU

This is almost like an oxymoron. Okay so we all want our dream jobs, but sometimes   95% of the times we don’t get those jobs right away.  While I encourage applying for your dream job, I will also say apply for jobs that may not necessarily be your “dream job”. Apply to jobs that have aspects  you like and areas you can grow in.


3. KEEP A LOG OF  YOUR APPLICATIONS

I can not tell you the number of  times I have applied to jobs and forgotten to log them. The frustrating part is when I get a call for an interview appointment, but I don’t even remember what job position I applied for or even the name of the company. Now I know better! Keep an excel spread sheet if possible with the date, position and your cover letter of your application. Also add other useful information like the name of person you spoke to about the position or the person that received your application.

4. PREPARE FOR THE INTERVIEW

Sit in front of a mirror, write down interview questions and answer them. If possible record the whole process, Your verbal response is just as important as your posture and gesture. Practice smiling, practice your facial expressions when you are asked tough questions. If you are like me, practice speaking at a slower pace. ( I speak fast) Also  ladies practice sitting and bending in your interview attire, you want to look sharp without revealing too much.

5. DO NOT BE MODEST ABOUT YOUR ACCOMPLISHMENTS

In my culture, I was taught not to boast about myself. If you said you were good at something, it almost seemed like you were bragging. In American culture it is the opposite. When you arrive that interview and they ask you about your accomplishments or your skills, do not hold back, let it all out (of course within context). Be proud of your accomplishments and let it show.

6. KEEP IN TOUCH!

Send a thank you email after the interview. That will make the interviewer(s) remember you and  also show-case your communication skills.  If the company doesn’t get back to you with a feedback  in the time frame they told you, do not be afraid to call or email to check on the status on your application.

If you do not get the job, do not be discouraged I know it is hard and frustrating! however prayerfully asking God for direction, keep applying.

Wishing you all the best!

4 Replies to “Nail that job interview”

  1. This was helpful. I can relate especially to the being modest part. In Nigeria, if you talk about an accomplishment too much, you will become the proud and annoying person that no one wants to relate with but here, I’ve seen people make a mountain sized deal of graduating high school and I’m like “that’s just like passing WAEC though’. I’m learning how to own my space and take compliments with a smile…it’s not easy because the voice saying ‘don’t be proud’ is installed in my brain but, I’m getting there.

    Like

  2. Wow Eb..I really like the new do..it’s really sexy…(I think all barmaids look sexolly-ol) You know how to make a “Woo Woo”? OMG,I’m coming to New York.This guy made it for me a few years ago and I loved it…Nobody else knows how to make the drink or has even heard of it.. I know I wasn’t crazy, that it was a real drink.Oh Did I tell you how sexy the newdo looks?

    Like

Leave a Reply

